So, I had a Duh! moment today while reading the Greek version of Psalm 2. The verse in particular was the 2nd:

καὶ οἱ ἄρχοντες συνήχθησαν ἐπὶ τὸ αὐτὸ
        κατὰ τοῦ κυρίου καὶ κατὰ τοῦ χριστοῦ αὐτοῦ

For some reason, it never occurred to me that when my English Bible says, “and the rules gather together, against the Lord and against his anointed,” that the early Church would have read this as “and the rulers gather together, against the Lord and against his Messiah. (Gk. Christ)” For some reason I never connected the two in this psalm. Of course the early Church read this messianically! It talks about the nations raging against God and his Christ. I hope I have more “Ah hah!” moments as I work through the psalms. It seems like if we want to understand the early Church’s exegesis, then it’s even more important to read the OT in Greek than it is Hebrew. That is what they were using after all! (for the most part ;-) ) [1]

~alex

[1] I do have a vested interest in that view. After all, I know a little bit of Greek. I don’t know any Hebrew. ;-)

